Ryman Prize winner announcement

Nobel Prize winner to present $200,000 international award

WHERE: Edmund Hillary Retirement Village, 221 Abbots Way, Remuera, Auckland

WHEN: 3pm Monday, August 17, 2015

You’re invited to celebrate the award of the inaugural Ryman Prize.

The $200,000 prize is an international award for the best work in the world that enhances quality of life for older people.

The prize, which was launched this year by Prime Minister John Key, has attracted entrants from all over the world. A seven-strong international jury has decided on the winner.

The winner be announced and awarded the Ryman Prize by Professor Erwin Neher, a prize juror who was joint winner of the Nobel Prize for Medicine.

Please join us for the ceremony and refreshments afterwards.

The winner and Professor Neher will be happy to be interviewed.

About the Ryman Prize:

The Ryman Prize is an annual cash prize aimed at rewarding excellence by creating the equivalent of a Nobel Prize for innovation in the health of older people.

Ryman Prize juror Dr David Kerr said the aim was to recognise the work of the brightest and best thinkers around the world.

“We’ve looked for the best discovery, invention, medical advance, idea or initiative we can find anywhere on earth. We’ve opened it up to the world’s best thinkers. We’re hoping that, by offering such a lucrative prize, we can do some genuine good in the fight to enhance quality of life for older people.’’

The Ryman jury includes:

Dr Brian Draper, Conjoint Professor in the School of Psychiatry at the University of New South Wales.

Professor Sarah Harper, Director of the Oxford Institute of Population Ageing.

Fred Lee, a Florida-based health management thinker, author and motivational speaker.

Professor Tim Wilkinson, consulting geriatrician and Associate Dean of Medical Education, Otago School of Medicine.

Dr Naoko Muramatsu, health and ageing research specialist, University of Illinois at Chicago.

Dr Erwin Neher, Nobel Laureate and Professor at the University of Göttingen, Germany. Dr Neher is a biophysicist who won the Nobel Prize for Medicine in 1991.

Dr David Kerr, Ryman Healthcare Chairman, Fellow and Past President of the New Zealand Medical Association, Fellow with Distinction of the Royal New Zealand College of General Practitioners.

About the Ryman Foundation, the Ryman Prize and Ryman Healthcare:

1: The Ryman Foundation is funding a US$150,000 ($200,000) annual prize. The money is awarded to the best invention, idea, research concept or initiative that has enhanced the quality of life for the elderly. The Ryman Foundation has been set up to administer The Ryman Prize.

2: The Ryman Prize is awarded in New Zealand but is open to anyone, anywhere in the world with a bright idea.

3: The prize is a philanthropic initiative aimed at improving the lot of older people. The prize pool has come from an anonymous donor.

4: Ryman Healthcare was established in 1984 and owns and operates 28 retirement villages in New Zealand and Australia which are home to 9000 residents. Ryman Healthcare is one of New Zealand’s largest listed companies, with 4000 staff and 14,000 shareholders.

For more details contact David King, Corporate Affairs Manager, Ryman Healthcare This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.or click on

0064 21 499 602